Envision Service Management Function

Published: April 25, 2008


Position of the Envision SMF within the MOF IT Service Lifecycle

The MOF IT service lifecycle encompasses all of the activities and processes involved in managing an IT service: its conception, development, operation, maintenance, and—ultimately—its retirement. MOF organizes these activities and processes into Service Management Functions (SMFs), which are grouped together in lifecycle phases. Each SMF is anchored within a lifecycle phase and contains a unique set of goals and outcomes supporting the objectives of that phase. The SMFs can be used as stand-alone sets of processes, but it is when SMFs are used together that they are most effective in ensuring service delivery at the desired quality and risk levels.

The Envision SMF belongs to the Deliver Phase of the MOF IT service lifecycle. The following figure shows the place of the Envision SMF within the Deliver Phase, as well as the location of the Deliver Phase within the IT service lifecycle.

Figure 1. Position of the Envision SMF within the IT service lifecycle

Before you use this SMF, you may want to read the following MOF 4.0 guidance to learn more about the MOF IT service lifecycle and the Deliver Phase:

Why Use the Envision SMF?

This SMF should be useful to anyone who is tasked with forming a core project team, preparing and delivering a vision/scope document that clearly communicates the project’s vision and the scope of that vision, and preparing a risk assessment.

It addresses how to do the following:

  • Organize the core project team.
  • Write the vision/scope document.
  • Approve the vision/scope document.

This accelerator is part of a larger series of tools and guidance from Solution Accelerators.


Get the Microsoft Operations Framework 4.0

Solution Accelerators Notifications

Sign up to learn about updates and new releases


Send us your comments or suggestions