Rate cards

 

Updated: November 1, 2016

Applies To: Dynamics Marketing

System_CAPS_importantImportant

Microsoft Dynamics Marketing is scheduled to be retired on May 15, 2018. After that date the service will no longer be available. Please plan accordingly. For details, see the blog post Microsoft Dynamics Marketing service will be discontinued, and learn what’s coming next.

Store the standard rates for the media you buy and sell by using rate cards in Microsoft Dynamics Marketing.

To work with rate cards, you must have the Media Buyer type and also have privileges for at least one type of media that uses rate cards. More information: Work with user accounts and staff contacts

People commonly use price and cost as synonyms; in Microsoft Dynamics Marketing cost is the amount you pay whereas price is the amount you charge. To configure your system to sell media go to Set media buying options

Rate Cards contain sets of Rates. You must create a Rate Card to create Rates.

Use Rate Cards to:

  • Store cost information that you use again and again. If you buy the same media using the same rates again and again, be sure to enter the rates into Microsoft Dynamics Marketing. You can retrieve rates quickly on media orders and save rekeying and looking the rate up.

  • Store special rates that you have negotiated. If you have negotiated a special rate the best place to store it is in media rates. Of course, you can attach rate cards and quotes to the media outlet record using attachments or documents.

  • If you sell media, store the price you charge clients in rates. When you create invoices you can use these rates to minimize data entry and to eliminate the need to look up prices elsewhere.

Don't use Rate Cards:

  • When you order media once; there is no need to setup a rate if you order a media outlet once a year or once ever.

  • To store every rate and option on every media outlets rate card.  Only create rates that you plan to use several times.

Part of the complexity of buying (and selling) media is that fact that media is bought and sold using a variety of different rate structures, or pricing approaches. Microsoft Dynamics Marketing supports the following common rate types:

Column Inch

Calculated by multiplying the width (number of columns) by the height (inches). Example: 2 ads each 3 columns wide by 2 inches high at $100 per column-inch = 2 x 3 x 2 x $100 = $1200.  

CPC

Cost per click rates are calculated by multiplying the number of clicks by the cost per click. Example: 6 clicks at $10 each = $60.  

CPM

Cost per thousand. These rates are calculated by multiplying the quantity by the rate and dividing by 1,000. Example:  300,000 names x $80 CPM = 300,000 x $80 / 1000 = $2400.

CPM (Broadcast)

Cost per thousand. Radio and TV CPM rates are calculated by multiplying the Audience (in thousands) by the rate and dividing by 1,000. Example:  300,000 viewers x $80 CPM = 300,000 x $80 / 1000 = $2400.

CPP

Cost per (Rating) Point. These rates are calculated by multiplying the total rating points for the spot by the cost per rating point. When the Media Planning Option is active and Nielsen or Arbitron Ratings are available, the rating point value used by Microsoft Dynamics Marketing is the one for the specified Rate Card and Demographic. Example: 1 ad with a rating of 3.6 with a CPP of $500 = $1,800.

Daily

Calculated by multiplying the # of days by the cost/day. Example: 1 ad for 4 days at $1000/day = $4000.

Flat Rate

Expressed as a total rate that is not associated with a quantity. Example: 15,000 names for $3700.

Monthly

Calculated by multiplying the # of months by the weekly rate. Example: 1 ads for 4 weeks at $1000/week = $4000.

Per Ad

Calculated by multiplying the quantity by the unit rate. Example: 6 ads at $10 each = $60.  

Per Line

Calculated by multiplying the # of lines by the line rate. Example: 20 lines for 4 days at $1/line = 20 x 4 x $1 = $80.  

Per Word

Calculated by multiplying the # of words by the unit rate. Example: 1 ad containing 20 words running for 4 days at $1/word = 20 x 4 x $1.  

Per Inquiry

Per inquiry rates are calculated by multiplying the number of inquiries by the cost per inquiry. Example: 6 clicks at $10 each = $60.

SAU

Standard Advertising Unit rates are calculated by multiplying the number of width units by the number of height units. Example: 2 ads each 3 units wide by 2 units high at $100 per unit = 2 x 3 x 2 x $100 = $1200.  

Weekly

Calculated by multiplying the # of weeks by the unit rate. Example: 1 ads for 4 weeks at $1000/week = $4000.

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