Enable sample data for trials

 

Updated: November 1, 2016

Applies To: Dynamics Marketing

System_CAPS_importantImportant

Microsoft Dynamics Marketing is scheduled to be retired on May 15, 2018. After that date the service will no longer be available. Please plan accordingly. For details, see the blog post Microsoft Dynamics Marketing service will be discontinued, and learn what’s coming next.

Dynamics Marketing Trials come with demo data already available out of the box (one automated campaign, 10 reusable email templates, and several other records).

To keep this data clearly separated from your real production data, demo records are set up as though they have been created by a fictitious user for a sample company. To see these sample records, toggle the Show all/View my toolbar button Show View All/View My button / Show View All/View My button to see records created by other users.

Sample email marketing templates are disabled by default. To enable them:

  1. Go to Settings > Templates > Email Marketing Templates.

  2. Set the Show all/View my toolbar toggle button Show View All/View My button / Show View All/View My button and Show/Hide inactive toolbar toggle button Show All/Active Only button / Hide Inactive/Deleted button so that you can see templates created by all users, including inactive (“cancelled”) templates. You can now see all available templates.

  3. Open a template you want to enable.

  4. Set your selected template’s Status to anything other than “Cancelled” (for example, choose the blank option, which is the default setting for new templates).

  5. Click Save.

System_CAPS_importantImportant

Remember that by using the sample templates you are also agreeing to comply with these licensing terms.

System_CAPS_noteNote

The sample data is a permanent part of your system, though you can hide it again at any time by reversing each of the settings described above. This is a result of the soft-delete mechanism used for nearly all types of records in Microsoft Dynamics Marketing, in which “deleted” records are actually preserved, but marked as inactive and hidden from view (in case they are needed later). If you want to start with a completely clean system containing no hidden sample data, then do not upgrade your trial instance to a production instance; instead, request a new, empty production instance when you are ready to start using the system with real data.

Show: