Enable entities for service level agreements (Customer Service)

Dynamics CRM 2016

Updated: November 1, 2016

Applies To: Dynamics 365 (online), Dynamics 365 (on-premises), Dynamics CRM Online, Dynamics CRM 2016

Service level agreements are not just important in the customer service space, but also for sales and marketing to ensure efficient handling of leads from start to finish.

Previously, you could only create SLAs for case records. With Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online 2016 Update 1 and Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2016 Service Pack 1, you can now enable any of these entities for SLA:

  • Account

  • Contact

  • Order

  • Invoice

  • Quote

  • Opportunity

  • Lead

  • All activity entities like email, phone, and appointment, except recurring appointment and its instances.

SLAs can also be enabled for custom entities and custom activities.


Only enhanced SLAs can be created for other entities. A standard SLA can be created only for the Case entity.

To enable an entity for SLA

  1. Make sure that you have the System Administrator or System Customizer security role or equivalent permissions.

  2. Go to Settings > Customizations.

  3. Click Customize the System.

  4. In the solution explorer, in the left nav pane, click the entity that you want to enable for SLA.

  5. Under Communication & Collaboration, select the Enable for SLA check box.

  6. Click Save.

  7. Click Publish.

  • The maximum number of entities that can have active SLAs for your organization is 7.

  • The maximum number of SLA KPIs allowed per entity for your organization is 5.