What's new: Policy Framework [AX 2012]

Updated: October 25, 2013

Applies To: Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R3, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R2, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 Feature Pack, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012

Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 introduces a policy framework that lets you define policy rules in modules to help guide the flow of business. The framework provides a set of common patterns and rich features that users can use to enforce simple rules, or to evaluate and act on several different rules in a complex organizational hierarchy. You can create policy rules to control transaction flow and enforce business rules in the following areas:

  • Audit

  • Travel and expense

  • Signing limits

  • Purchasing

  • Vendor invoice

The policy framework is extensible, so that it can be used by third-party developers for Microsoft Dynamics AX.





Feature areas affected



Business decision makers

Technical decision makers

Implementation team members

Independent software vendors (ISVs)/developers


The policy framework is new in AX 2012.

Enforcement of rules at the business transaction level has expanded considerably since AX 2009.

What can you do?

AX 2009

AX 2012

Why is this important?

Create policies.

Not supported

Administrators can create policies to enforce business rules such as spending limits and purchasing policies.

You have more control over the business and the enforcement of corporate policy.

Manage policies.

Not supported

Administrators can change policies to reflect the changing requirements of the business.

Management of business transactions is more flexible.

Create custom policies and rule types.

Not supported

Developers can create custom policy types and rule types.

You can perform additional customization to meet the requirements of the business.

For more information about the policy framework, see the white paper Using the Policy Framework in Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012.

Announcements: To see known issues and recent fixes, use Issue search in Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).